How to apply ACS Override patch (Kubuntu 18.10 & Kernel 4.18.16)

Hey all, sorry if this is a stupid question.

I am extremely new to Linux (working in it for about a month) and am moving over from Windows 10. Ever since I switched, I’m falling more and more in love with it. I still have my windows partition as a back up, but I’m trying very hard to switch solely to Linux. The latest challenge I’m facing is being able to game. I’ve done the research and what I’m going to do a mix of native gaming, WINE gaming, and a VM with a GPU passthrough using VFIO. After a week and a half of work I’ve managed to figure out all problems with VFIO but now that I can create the VM I’m having troubles with my IOMMU groupings. My GPU and companion sound controller are in a group with 4 other devices. I’ve read about a ACS override patch (I’m running on a Xeon E3-1200 controller which I’ve read doesn’t support ACS) and it looks like its extremely hardware specific to me and the one Wendell made looks looks like its only for radeon cards? If I’m wrong about this, I would really appreciate it if someone could help me by providing me a link to a good ACS patch and how to apply it to my kernel

EDIT: changing to kernel 4.19 did not affect the problem at all. Could an earlier kernel help me?

Here are my IOMMU groups so that you can see my issue

PC Specs:

Motherboard: ASRock Z370 Killer SLI/ac

GPUs: GeForce GTX 780, GeForce GTX 1070

CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k @ 3.70GHz

RAM: 16 GB DDR4

Kernel: 4.18.16

With most distros, you have to download the kernel source code, insert the ACS patch, and compile+install the patched kernel.

Since you are running Ubuntu(or spin thereof), there are pre-compiled kernels with the acs patch available here-
https://queuecumber.gitlab.io/linux-acs-override/