Build Log | Monolith

Alright folks, I’ve been teasing this system for a bit under 6 months now, and I’ve finally got around to writing it up.

So in June-ish of 2020, I set out to build the ultimate no-compromises ITX system. I wanted to be able to do passthrough, have lots of CPU power and run in utter silence. I’ve sacrificed only passthrough at the moment, but that’s simply due to a lack of GPU availability. I’ve got a PCIe slot available for the GPU whenever stock becomes available.

I chose the SM580 for the ample radiator space, the fact that it’s made in the USA and the solid, solid construction. My intent was to put 2 GPUs in here, a mid-range for Linux and a powerhouse for Windows gaming. At the moment, I’ve only got the 6900xt in there, but that’ll change as soon as stock comes around. I want people who need a first GPU to have a chance to buy before I buy a second.

So. Let’s start off with the hardware choices, justifications, modifications and

Component Choice Count
Motherboard AsRock B550 Gaming-ITX/AX 1
CPU AMD Ryzen 3900x 1
RAM G Skill Trident Z RgB 2x32GB CL18 3600MHz 1
SSD XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB 2
GPU AMD Radeon 6900 XT 1
Case Sliger SM580 1
Power Supply Corsair SF750 SFX-L 1
Fans Noctua NF-P14s redux 1500 4
Watercooling
CPU Block EK Velocity 1
GPU Block EK Quantum Vector RX 6000 1
Reservoir EK FLT 120 1
Pump EK DDC PWM 1
Radiator HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 280 Xtreme (280mm x 45mm) 1
Radiator HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 280 Stealth (280mm x 30mm) 1
Radiator HWLabs Black Ice SR2 560mm 1
Plug EK G1/4 Plug 8
Fittings EK black nickel soft tube fitting 14
Fittings EK black nickel 90 fitting 8
Fittings EK T-splitter 3F 1
Tubing EK ZMT 15ft 2
Temp Sensor Bitspower Temperature sensor stop fitting 1
Quick Disconnects Koolance QDC4 Male 2
Quick Disconnects Koolance QDC4 Female 2
Custom
Bottom feet custom 3d prints, designed by yours truly 4