Workstation for Monte Carlo Simulations

I have been following the Youtube channel since before the LevelOneTechs days, though it is my first time posting. I have always been impressed with the level of detail and depth of knowledge displayed. Maybe I can lean on it for some pointers in the right direction.

We are looking to run monte carlo simulations using the EGSnrc and GEANT4 codes (cpu-based, Fortran/C++). So this workstation would need as many cores as possible with strong cache and RAM to move data back and forth. The workstation would be running 24/7 for 2-4 weeks per simulation. At this time, we are only looking to convert the trajectory output data into 2d heatmaps. We do not anticipate super intense graphics needs.

Hardware is not my greatest expertise. From the videos, it looks like Epyc (Genoa/Bergamo) may be the way to go. Mainly, we are looking for some workstation systems that are sold by vendors in the US that we could use to just get going. We have a soft budget of 10 k$.

1 Like

If you dont need more than 64 physical cores or more than 512GB of memory, than any threadripper pro workstation fits your needs and budget.

If you need more than that, i.e memory ot dual socket config, then start looking into epyc builds.

Lenovo P620 should be easily available
Puget systems is US based and build profesional workstations to order as well.

If you are in academia, you might be able to get discount if go through your vendor rep.

1 Like

Threadripper has 8 DIMM slots. So 512GB is fairly easy and cheap to get. If you need more, EPYC boards have up to 24 DIMMs. Just so you know what’s possible. Intel has comparable offers.

EPYC has the option for dual-socket with 2x CPU and double the RAM.
And the CPUs with “X” have extra Cache but cost a lot more. So do your calculations and check use case if they are worth the cost.

CPUs are really expensive…high core count means $10k+ just for the CPU. So you have to make compromises.