The ITX Sandwich megabuild saga

Hiya folks!

I’m considering a somewhat unique build at the moment, and since I’ve got very little experience with ITX boards, I thought I’d ask here.

I’m looking for a small case that’s got room for a midrange GPU and a couple SSDs. This will be an AMD build, and I’m also considering waiting for the zen 2 APUs to come out, since the rumor mill has them estimated to be fairly powerful.

I’m mostly looking for something that’ll be a replacement for my 1950x system. I need 32GB (or 64, maybe) of ram, a dGPU for passthrough, and 3-4 SSDs. NVMe or SATA doesn’t matter, this is for ZFS.

I don’t have a specific volume limit, I’m just aiming for “as smol as possible”

As far as other requirements go, it needs wired networking. 10G would be nice, but is not required. It needs onboard video out, for the APU, duh. and the case must have dust filtration because I am spoiled by the Meshify C.

I have no current pricerange for this build, but I think $1200 $2800 is a somewhat realistic aim.

Alright, I’ve got the initial build plan done, budget completely blown away, but IDGAF anymore:

I have been using an Intel NUC with an external nVidia 1080 via TB3 and haven’t looked back for a second.

If you want to stick with AMD, there are some nice similar formfactor options.

I’m using Linux, so I’m not really looking to have thunderbolt be an instrumental component to the build.

I had considered that though. The main issue is that my XPS 15 is proving to me that Thunderbolt isn’t fully mature on Linux yet.

1 Like

That itx x570 ASRock rack MB should be available soon…

:ok_hand:

Each one of those words says price++ to me.

But yes, that’s definitely on my radar.

I built in a DAN A4 case, can highly recommend it.

Pics

Other options are Ghost loque S1 or the Zaber sentry, although all these cases are expensive and hard to aquire.

My current case is a fractal core 500, which is nice, but too big for my liking.

Hmmmmm…

that actually seems solid.