Win X, Fedora, And A KVM

Most of you know that for almost the last two years I've been running a Linux daily driver with a Windows 7 KVM (kernel based virtual machine), I've been really happy with the setup, it has been basically trouble free, robust, and offers the best of both Windows and Linux has to offer.

As we all know Win 7 is coming to the end of it's service life and I was starting to see issues with drivers and some newer programs not performing as expected, I've lived with the issues because they haven't been much more than a annoyance until I bought Just Cause 3, trying to play the game is almost impossible on my setup, lots of latency in the entire system that never appeared on any other game or piece of software.

At the same time I've been wanting to do a fresh install of Fedora 25 and build a new Windows KVM to address a few problems that I created because of being a total noob at Linux when I originally built the system, I've updated the host system over the years from Fedora 22 to 23 then to 24 then to 25, but I really wanted to start fresh.

I also had the idea of trying to move to Windows 8.1 (I know) I've stated here on the forum many times in threads that I would be staying with Win 7 but it just isn't going to workout, I've already had issues with video drivers (Crimson) not installing correctly and creating lots of BSDs, newer programs not wanting to play nice, and just the general sluggishness that Win 7 has at times.

So a friend of mine offered me a copy of Win X enterprise which is the version that does allow you to shut off at least some of the telemetry (MS's term for built-in spyware), only problem is he didn't have a activation key I could use, so a little research and it seems you can run it without activation but no one can say just how long and I figured I'd give it a try and worse case I'd have to buy a key from one of the re-sellers.