Why isn't anyone talking about GPU image sharpening?

Did I miss a thread on this?

The new Radeon Image Sharpening and Nvidia Freestyle Sharpening filters are insanely great even when you render to your monitor’s native resolution. The added texture detail is extremely noticeable, even without zooming in.

I honestly thought ESO added some sort of blur filter to the picture but no, the new sharpening filters work in multiple games like this. And it doesn’t change UI elements or make the game unplayable, I haven’t seen any artifacts, and it has a negligible impact on framerates.

AMD side requires Navi, NVidia works on Pascal and possibly earlier.

Really very impressive stuff.

Click to expand to full size:

6 Likes

I can see the difference even without expanding.

3 Likes

Hardware unboxed did a series of 3 videos on this.

3 Likes

Any way to get it working on Linux (currently use fedora)? I’m guessing it’s some sort of shader injection thing, but I have zero knowledge of how anything related to that works in Linux.

Nope, not available on Linux.

My point here is it isn’t just a better DLSS. Image sharpening dramatically improves material texture quality even when rendering to native resolution.

And it does it with negligible performance impact, artifact free. It’s frickin’ magical. Try it yourself!

2 Likes

had to open the pic on my 2k screen to see any diffrence. under 1080 its not worth. 1440p maybe useful but it does fuck all at 1080p or im goign blind but i can see it on 2k not 1080p

I’m surprised to hear that, since it’s so extremely obvious at 1440p.

well my 1080p screen is also a cheap under 100$ one so just could be the shit panel.

1 Like

I’ve also Image Sharpening activated at 50% and 15% grain (default settings) and thus far, I think overall image quality has been improved.

@Log AMD’s sharpening tool is open source, which means it is not unlikely that it will be ported to Linux :wink: