Who here uses Linux Round the clock, Main OS and everything?

I'm super curious. I tend to flip between Linux and windows (though if I'm smart I'll put windows on my Y40-70 and play what I can't play in linux on that) when I need to do something for a rather extensive period of time. However most of the time I am happy to sit in linux and be able to fix my shit when I need to. In arch I can go grab a package off the AUR, build it, and any dependancy I didn't have I have in 30 seconds or less. Its great! Windows can't do that shit. A lot of linux distros can't do that shit.

As for the other side that think using linux as a main OS is stupid, WHY is it stupid? I see people make comments on here from time to time along the lines of "Oh I would never use Linux as a main OS thats a stupid idea." I'm curious as to why that is.

4 Likes

I've been using GNU+Linux almost exclusively for two years. Work, gaming, leisure, all of that with no issues at all. There were a few times where i booted up windows to play Witcher 3, but with the recent Wine developments, DX11 is close so pretty soon i probably will never need Windows for gaming or leisure. Work so far has not required any tricky software but i can never tell what challenges will i find in the future.
After a while you get used to the environment you're in and stop thinking "am i missing out on something i had on windows?". At first i was concerned i couldn't play some of my favourite games (so i got another HDD and installed windows) but now i have so many games on my waiting list (thanks to Feral interactive) that i don't really care for AAA mainstream stuff that might be difficult to run on GNU+Linux.