Vivaldi (From the OG Creators of Opera): Out of Beta and 1.0 Stable Released to the Public

If you've loved the Opera Internet browser or are just looking for something new to rid you of Firefox, Epiphany, Chromium or Edge well look no further, Vivaldi has finally come out of Beta after 2 years of development. it is available on most official repositories for Linux and available to download on Mac and Windows.

Source: http://www.theverge.com/2016/4/6/11374806/walt-mossberg-vivaldi-web-browser-opera
Source: http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2016/04/vivaldi-browser-version-1-0-released/

1 Like

Using it since Opera sold itself to China (not sure actually). It is great. Still using Beta but will update later today (or not).

I played around with Vivaldi back when it first entered beta and really loved it. I've been using Firefox for about 4-5 years and Vivaldi is convincing me to switch. Like, FF eats up so much more resources than what I have seen Vivaldi use thus far. We shall see :P

Does it have support for npapi plugins?
Or is it still based on the chromium engine?

it's still based on Chromium, so it should. though I can't properly test it, I went through hell to get Flash working on all my browsers on Arch Linux. if you aren't using Chromium-pepper-flash, you're not going to get flash working unless you use some Open Source Alternative.

Ah then there probably wont be any support for npapi plugins like Java and silverlight i suppose.

Probably not, it's one of the headaches of using Linux, not everything works in the browser. the only thing I've seen work flawlessly is Chrome. Flash works out the box, and so does HTML5.

I've been using Brave, It's cool so far, short on features but it's Open Source so...

This is god damned beautiful. I just need ghostery and adblock now!