USB 3.0 controller PCIe passthrough

So I am trying to passthrough a USB 3.0 add in card to my VM in order to be able to switch keyboard and mouse between host and guest by using a small KVM switch. But somehow it doesn’t work as expected.

I might not know where to start and which information you need in order to help me since I am new to the Linux universe but I’ll try to do my best.

I went with Fedora30 WS (Kernel version 5.0.9.301 with ACS patch) and try to use it as my daily driver in the future. But I don’t want to go completely without Windows for now. (Partly because of my gaming passion) So I plan to use VFIO to passthrough a few PCIe devices to my VM in order to enjoy near native performance without having to reboot all the time.
I already managed to passthrough an NVMe SSD, a SATA SSD (block device) and my GTX 980Ti (although its fans always spin up to a 100% as soon as I shut down the VM) to the VM.

But the USB 3.0 add in card is something I can’t handle.
I tried two different ones (inateck KT2001 and StarTech PEXUSB3S24) and they cause different problems.
Lets start with what both of them have in common:

1. Massively slow down startup and shutdown of the VM (without passing them through the VM starts up lightning fast)

2. They don’t work inside the VM (and I am sure they work on the host OS)

3. Both got power because the LEDs of attached keyboards or flash drives light up

The StarTech card doesn’t even show up in the Device Manager inside the VM.

The inateck with the ASMedia chipset does show up in the Device Manager and works properly according to Windows even though it doesn’t work at all inside the VM.
After shutting down the VM the inateck card locks up my whole libvirt process. No matter what I try, I can’t kill the process in this case and I can’t even gracefully shutdown the host OS. A hard reset is required to revive libvirt.

With that said I think I just dump some information about my configuration in here.

Hardware: