Unity or Godot engine for someone who doesn't know how to code?

Hello. I would like to program 2d and 3d games but I’m an absolute beginner at it. I know a little bit of c++ and c#. People seem to recommend Unity since it has a big community. Although also some people recommended Godot for it’s ease of use. Which one should I use?

Hi.

Stick to 2D…

Stick to 2D…

I would strongly recommend for you to stick to 2D for a start. And then I would recommend to try the free version of Game Maker, although the studio have completely ruined the software, it’s still much easier to wrap your head around it rather than something like unity.
Also Game Maker used to have a drag and drop command function, so you don’t have to know coding at all, but I am not sure if they removed that feature.

The issue with 3D for a beginner is in basically everything. Coding is multiple times more comes, collisions are crazy complicated, then there are 3D models and texturing and 3D animations and stuff…
2D is much easier to wrap your head around until you know what you are doing and then layer the extra dimension on top of what you know.

To be fair I never heard of Godot, so I have no idea what it is…

1 Like

How “absolute beginner” are we talking here?

1. Dabled in Scratch or Lego Mindstorms (drag&drop programming)
  2. Ruby, Python, Processing “did some light coding”
  3. Java, C/C++, C# “venturing into GUI land”
  4. Worked as software engineer at NASA for 25 years and want to make a game now

If you are 1) or 2) on the above list, try mocking up your game in Python, Ruby or Processing. Then look into Java or C/C++ and engines.
For all else, follow what @psycho_666 said:

^ this

1 Like

Do you intend to learn programming? Or just wanna design games?

Might wanna try Unreal Engine 4 and their node based game scripting. Although I don’t have an experience with that, heard good stuff.