Ultimate Portable Interne Box-of-Everything

Here is what I have been working on for Devember2021.

I planned on making in into a neat little box (see pics) but was sent to hospital for facial reconstructive surgery at the last moment, so wasn’t able to fab up a case. The hardware and software side, the important parts all work though. And I am really happy with the direction the project is heading.

The Ultimate internet box is a multi function box that can be deployed basically anywhere and provide a huge range of service for both temporary and permanant use cases.

The heart of the system is made up of -

Netgear 4G modem
TP-Link 8 port (4 PoE,4 normal) switch
Raspberry pi 4 running home assistant
2.5” HDD (non SSD model was chosen to give extra life if used for CCTV)
zigbee hub(looking at removing zigbee, prone to issues)
cooling fan

From the basic setup a huge range of parts can be added. I have done testing with the following -
Ubiquity UniFi wifi access points
PoE CCTV cameras (RTSP streaming compatible)
SONOFF zigbee hub devices (motion, door, lights switch, temp/humidity etc)

Home assistant can run UniFi server software locally making it easy to intergrate into the system. It also runs NVR software (frigate) making it a great solution for a portable NVR with image/face recognition.

Proposed uses for this build are as follows -

Emergency internet
PLEX media server
Wifi HUB
CCTV HUB
Portable broadcast/live stream station
Security hub/Alarm system
Network Ad Blocker (add-on not working)
EFTPOS backbone network
Door Bell with person/face detection

I have built and tested the system into several cardboard mockup cases to get sizing before I jumped into more ridged materials.

Backstory-
I was lucky enough to be left in charge of the EFTPOS wifi backbone network for a music festival we (some friends and I) ran at the start of December in Willunga, South Australia, see link