Thoughts on Am5 motherboards for a workstation build

So I picked up a Ryzen 7900x for a really good price. Like stupid good price. So now I am looking to nail down my internals. This is going to be more work build than gaming. I have my eye on two different mother boards Both are ASUS one is the

ProArt Creator b650

The Rog Strix b650 E gaming wif

i. one is marketed as a more creator motherboard which I am an developer and visual artist so that makes some sense, and the other more Game oriented which I really do not care all that much about. but both have some features that I find compelling.

1.both boards offer support for ecc memory whenever ddr5 ECC memory comes available

1. Multiple gpu support, for future endeavors in machine learning.

Now I am leaning towards the Rog Strix Model, even though its about 100 dollars more, I get more NVME drive support. which helps future expandability. On the Rog Strix Model the bifurcation is a bit weird. Asus says they are PCIE gen 5 X16 but if you have a dual gpu setup they are bifurcated X 8 X 4 I find that a bit odd. they are PCIE gen 5 bandwidth but all cards are PCIE gen 4 currently at most. So my question would be is that would a PCIE gen 4 card be able to take advantage of the larger bandwidth of a PCIE GEN 5 slot?
Thoughts or ideas as far as possible Motherboards that I may find compelling?

Will you ever need more than 64GB of ram?

I am going to say right now No, In the future as my interests, and my work changes I do not know, possibly but in the near future I am going to say that 64 gb is ample more than ample.

Okay, if you happened to say yes you’d maybe need to take into consideration which board had a better memory support 128GB is hard to run on am5 currently