Thoughts on $800 Gaming Build

Hey guys,

This is my first build and I am trying to achieve the best fps for games like Battlefield 4, Crysis 3, Fallout NV, Bioshock Infinite, etc. I like playing fps, rpgs, and some real time strategy games like Starcraft 2. I am hoping to play all of these games and any games that come out this year at highest possible settings. Other things I will be doing on with this build is some programming and school work.

Here is the link to what I have: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3NXa3

I know it is a bit over $800 and I would like to trim it down to $800 or less but I also want the best performance and will spend a little over if need be.

I would just like for you guys to recommend any changes and just check to make sure everything is compatible because this will be my first build so I am a little nervous.

Also, I don't plan on any overclocking so I didn't choose a seperate cpu cooler, and don't worry about adding an os into that price. I also have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

Thanks!

Disclaimer: I'm new with PC's as well...

Honestly it looks like its all works. If you wanted to save any kind of money you don't NEED the ssd. SSD is highly recommended, but its not a necessity. Other than that, it all depends on what you want.

Good start.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3Oa6o

I bumped the PSU up to a higher quality (in my opinion), single 12v rail unit. The 280x costs $20 more than the 280, it's worth the extra $20.

There's no tangible performance difference between 1600 and 1866 RAM. I saved some money there.

Ok Thanks!

if you ditch the SSD, you could get an R9 290 in to the build http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3Ohys

Ok I will think about trying to fit the R9 290 in, I was also wondering about if there would be any benefit to going with an intel chipset and maybe a GTX card, or should I just keep things the way they are?

AMD GPUs are more bang for buck. They beat Nvidia at each any given price point.