The YouTube server phenomenon

Hello!

I am new to the enterprise space when it comes to servers, but I would like to believe that I am quite handy when it comes to the home environment.

My question to the comunity is as following:
Isn’t something like Linus Tech Tips Petabyte project stupid for a small business?

To my knowledge something like a fast single server with a bunch of disk shelves is easier to maintain and a hell of a lot easier to upgrade. The clustering of storage feels like a last case scenario to my knowledge.
And the cost of the hardware and rackspace can’t be worth the performance of clustering if there even is any.

I would love to see if you can change my mind!

Yes.
There is a reason why Steve “Tech Jesus” of Gamers Nexus chose our beloved overlord, Wendell - he is overall, more sane.

There is no real need to change your mind.

6 Likes

No, if you own several dozen RED cameras and shoot at 8K and archive everything.

Yes, if all you store is what you store on a typical NAS.

3 Likes

Rather than what LTT does for themselves, I would check out what LTT does for others in the NAS space or what L1T did for Gamers Nexus. What ever LTT does for themselves is usually over the top or has some level ridiculousness they are willing to maintain themselves because they are the ones fronting that responsibility.

4 Likes

They are trying to create a workshop where people can drop in to work on projects, but currently it’s closed to the public and only for LMG employees. So yeah, still kinda selfish at this current point, because they seriously need to open up that workshop to all.

If your storage needs are stupid large like what LTT has, then Gluster makes sense.

If you only need up to 200TB, there are other solutions.

If you need 1PB, you’ll be taking up a hell of a lot more rackspace with disk shelves as opposed to storinators.

Really depends on how much rack space you have and what the cost of it would be.

2 Likes