The Ultimate Home Server - Component: Home Security

TODO

3 Likes

I’ve been playing with Home Assistant now for a few years and have used that as the “glue” that coordinates various pieces in my own personal setup combining lights, cameras, motion detection, etc… Couple thoughts:

IP Cameras:
These are readily available and are often setup with a main stream running at high resolutions such as 4K as well as a sub-stream running a much lower resolution. Software like Frigate is great for easily connecting to RTSP streams and recording video. Using hardware based decoding of h264 or h265 streams via your CPU or GPU can massively speed things up.

Motion/Object Detection:
Performing person or object detection in live video can be computationally taxing. You can do it with a CPU but your performance is going to be poor. Projects like Watsor can help by using pre-trained models (which you can swap out) and GPU hardware acceleration to perform object detection. For example, to identify people when they come into view. It sometimes can be a little hit-or-miss so you may want to fallback on something simpler like motion detection. I ended up coding my own option using the OpenCV library. When you’re running object detection or motion detection, make sure to run on the sub-stream. The higher resolution of the main stream probably won’t make much of a difference and it will tax your computer.

MQTT:
MQTT is a very popular messaging framework for IoT devices. This has been an excellent way to extend into Home Assistant without having to wrote code specifically for Home Assistant. I can write programs or utilities on my own, write to the MQTT stream and easily pick those up in Home Assistant to display images, messages, status, etc.

Alerting: