Setting up a backup server

Hi. just to start, I have almost no experience in setting up a network folder or compressing via cli, other than a small batch script and one guide on the internet, and I would like to setup a backup solution of some sort over a network share for one or more desktops. For now, a local computer dedicated to this would work, I can deal with doing it over the internet later on. I would also like to compress these backups, either manually by compressing every file, or through a program like veeam’s free edition (although anything that can do incremental backups would work).
I would I would like to know how I could go about setting this backup solution up. Again, I have very little experience with this sort of stuff, so apologies for any bad vocabulary.

Acronis is an easy turn-key solution for home backups.

What would I have to setup on the target system for the backups? Like would I have to install a specific OS, or do I just run acronis on all of the systems and let the program do the rest?
Also, is there any software that could accomplish this besides Acronis? I was looking at some free backup programs, and I’ve found a few, like veeam, AMANDA, or I could do it all manually (although that one would take a long time to setup). What do you think about those?
Thanks for the suggestion

Acronis is nice as a turnkey solution, they also provide cloud storage and have decent support.

As for diy:

There’s restic… or you can roll your own with vssadmin and rclone

Assuming you’re talking about Windows desktops, Veeam is probably the best way to go. Veeam will make the setup easy, I don’t see much reason to explain that process.

For the server side, you just need something that will provide a SMB share for Veeam to output to. This could be a Linux system running Samba, or a Windows server if desired. A different username/password and folder path for each system is advisable.