Ryzen 5000 memory layout - 2x8GB vs 4x8GB vs 2x16GB - Single Rank vs Dual rank?

Hi All

First time poster, longtime lurker.

Gamersnexus video on memory config with Ryzen 5000
I saw Steve from GN’s video( on some quite significant performance differences between 2x8GB and 4x8GB performance differences when using Ryzen 5000

They mentioned speaking to Wendell about it and he indicated that 2x16GB of single rank was the best config he has seen. He also mentioned interweaving playing a role (I don’t understand how).

I am curious as to the fundamentals impacting this. Without Wendel’s observation on 2x16GB, I would immediately assume that GN’s observation meaning that Dual Rank memory would be faster that single rank. but I also realized that its normally the opposite.

Should I stick with my 2x16GB memory order?
I have a 5950X with a Aorus Master X570 board and 2x G-skill Ripjaw 16GB 3600mhz CL16 memory on order.

I am doing a mix of IT, media and data production work and some nighttime gaming (usually grand strategy). Getting the 5950x over the 5900x since where I live (South Africa), shipping and taxes have closed the price gap (790 vs 1050) and I would like to be able to game, while video renders run in the background. I also tend to hold onto my hardware in about 4-6 year cycles.

I would hate to leave performance on the table, since I am ordering all new parts. Also if I need to upgrade to 4x 16GB RAM later, would I be seeing a drop in performance and should I rather go with 2x 32GB now?

Anyone else have some more information about this?

1 Like

I am more curious how Wendel has come to the conclusion that 16x2 RAM is the best config. I highly suspect he used an ITX board for this.

He does gush over that thing doesn’t he.

at the same time, I found a discussion with Dr Ian the other day, where they advised using dual rank 2x 16GB dimms and steering away from single rank, unless you go with 4 Dimms

I assume that Steve might have misspoke in his video

1 Like