Recommendation Request: Mining Crypto on Idle Hardware (No GPU)

I have hardware in a datacenter that is often underutilized. No GPUs, but I have several ~3ghz cores/threads available and dozens of GB of memory. I always wondered if it was worth mining monero in a vm to monetize the the hardware when idle. Electricity is all paid for, so no additional cost there…

I have no experience with crypto, so just looking for some recommendations or if it’s a complete waste of time, please let me know. That said, I kind of want to try it out for the experience even if it’s only making a few dollars a month or something.

So, my question is what currency is suited for this and how should I go about mining it?

There is no currency worth mining these days on CPU.

Only true if you have to pay for hardware and electricity. Since OP already has the “Hardware” and Pays for Electricity anyways, mining any crypto currency is 100% net income.
I have no clue what to go for though.

2 Likes

I’ll probably try monero if no one comes up with a compelling alternative.

Interested in this, as I have some spare hardware laying around too. Please let us know how everything goes, and what you do to get things setup.

1 Like

I dont know about crypto but if its new enough hardware and in a nice location, I would rent it out to people.

I’m thinking game servers and such.

1 Like

I would do that , but I periodically do need to use all/most of it. The crypto thing would be a vm that I turn on and off based on workload.

I’ll post updates here. I will most likely try to setup monero mining with the base tools in cli. I’m assuming I’ll need to join a pool, although if I don’t have to, I won’t. I’d like to go through the whole process of managing the wallet myself.

then just blame the datacenter’s ISP for the lag.

gg no re