Recomended e-mail-service?

i want to switch my private email from gmail to a more secure alternative. What are you guys using / what do you recommend? A friend recomended mailbox.org to me. Does anyone have any experience with them?

1 Like

I would recommend ProtonMail. I use it for a few of my accounts, and haven’t had any issues with it.

I have no experience with mailbox.org.

8 Likes

+1 for proton.

With protonmail do you only send emails to other proton users or people with whom you have shared pgp keys? How does end to end encryption work with general email use?

An email sent from one ProtonMail account to another is automatically encrypted with the public key of the recipient. Once encrypted, only the private key of the recipient can decrypt the email. When the recipient logs in, their mailbox password decrypts their private key and unlocks their inbox.

Emails sent from ProtonMail to non-ProtonMail email addresses may > optionally be sent in plain text or with end-to-end encryption. With encryption, the email is encrypted with AES under a user-supplied password. The recipient receives a link to the ProtonMail website on which they can enter the password and read the decrypted email. ProtonMail assumes that the sender and the recipient have exchanged this password through a backchannel.[32] Such emails can be set to self-destruct after a period of time.[37]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ProtonMail

So, yes…

1 Like

If relative privacy of your emails is important to you, there is no substitute for rolling your own. https://workaround.org/ispmail/stretch has a postfix/dovecot/rspamd guide that you can work through in a few hours. It’s pretty straight forward.

1 Like

I’ve been running my own with Mail-in-a-Box.

Bonus points that it comes with Nextcloud. :slight_smile: One command scripted install process, and lots of little things that make it nice, like (by default) emailing me when updates need to be applied.