Quality of Mikrotik Hardware

Hey guys, I’m looking to upgrade my network to 10gb and was on the market for a switch that can do the job. I’m looking for one with sfp+ for fiber. I know the ubuiqiti stuff is usually recommended, but I found what I think would be a good performer for a significantly lower cost, however, I have no experience with their stuff and would like some community feedback in any of you have experience with their products.

The switch is a Mikrotik Cloud Router Switch 317-1G-16S+RM

CC’ing @oO.o

No experience with their fiber stuff, but I love all their other stuff I’ve used. Physically durable, and their software is endlessly configurable. If you’re looking for something simple, this isn’t it. But sweet mother, once it’s set up the way you like it, it goes like a hot damn…

1 Like

It says “Router OS” and “Switch OS” but I couldn’t find anything else about it. Is it completely proprietary or is there a Linux or BSD kernel in there somewhere?

From their wiki: "RouterOS is MikroTik’s stand-alone operating system based on linux v3.3.5 kernel."
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:RouterOS_features

Web demos available here: https://mikrotik.com/software

SwitchOS is RouterOS with some changes. Wiki here: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS

1 Like

Thanks! I must have overlooked it.

Haven’t personally worked with one but I’ve heard from other network guys that they are pretty good. I think it’s a safe buy.

1 Like

Found this:

EDIT

That’s from 2014, so kind of dated now. This is also incorrect:

they use the same OS as their routers

Ubiquiti routers run a fork of Vyatta, and Ubiquiti switches run Linux with Broadcom FastPath.

My home firewall is a RB850x2 and it works well. It has never been the cause of any trouble, with zero reboots needed. At my previous job we deployed a lot of Mikrotik gear at small, remote sites that didn’t need any sort of IDS/IPS. RouterOS can take some time to learn but it is very configurable.

2 Likes