OpenSSH and Git Commitment | Level One Techs

Help support Level 1 Techs Linux through our Inmotion Link:

https://level1techs.com/inmotion

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://level1techs.com/video/openssh-and-git-commitment
4 Likes

Awesome video!

One thing I'd like to add, that also came up in the YouTube comments, is that it is better to rebase on pulling from a repo than doing merge commits (at least in my opinion, but others seem to agree).
It helps to keep the log clean and it doesn't really make a difference, since any local commits are only on the local machine and can be moved on top of the remote commits.

Maybe a follow-up video on how to use Git might be a cool idea, too. :smiley:

2 Likes

Is this any useful to me if i'm not a developer?

I'd say no.

Praise Lord Wendell for delivering the golden covfefe nugget manifested in this video :sunglasses:

Also to note Lord Wendell uses vim

1 Like

As I'm currently turning into some sort of developer, but not on web, one vote for the Wendell lecture on git.

I will probably use the parts presented here to create my personal instead-of-the-cloud solution. This is highly useful content (to me). Thanks!

And I'm pretty sure I will understand it, I just need to watch it at 3/4 speed and pause a lot... I think too many M&Ms were used (abused?) in the creation of this video. Or more to the point: for learning something new, the pace of this video is a bit too high.

1 Like

I'd say YES! I use git as version control for my LaTeX projects, various documents, configs, code, and various other things I'd like to have version control over.

2 Likes

One thing that git is great for, for non developers, is managing config changes in /etc

How does it sound to you to keep track of every single change to any config in /etc and be able to revert/review/undo as well as diff changed for new incoming and upgraded packages with your existing config?

4 Likes