New Mac User Here, Does OS X Have Spyware Like Win 10?

I am a new to OS X and am still discovering its peculiarities but considering the ongoing privacy firestorm created by Win 10 (and now apparently forced upon Win 8 and 7) I am wondering does OS X having anything remotely like privacy violations of Win 10?

Thank you in advance for helpful answers.

Yes it does.

Funnily enough many of the issues are similar to what exists in Windows 10. I'm by no means an expert from what i've found:

1. Spotlight. It can and at times does send personal location data, what you search, suggested terms and even private email and text messages back to Apple. It also ignores some privacy settings in Mail when loading attachments and images.

2. Without any obvious notification to the user, Yosemite will now upload your unsaved content within Apple apps to iCloud. (Which of course was hacked not too long ago remember)

3. Apparently it also sends identification information about the machine back to Apple too.

There are some additional issues I didn't mention. Also important to note that Apple doesn't give a shit about OS X or the people who use it. Only iOS. So they essentially stopped most development. As a result Mac OS often has many more vulnerabilities in it than you may expect.

This chart. It is from 2014 mind you but still relevant. Linux is so high because it groups most of the distributions together. Individual distros range from 15-40 or so total vulnerabilities. Apple's main defense is obscurity. Not many people use it so it isn't a desirable target.

That sums it up.

I am not new to comps but to OS X and what u say about Spotlight is perhaps true but does not nearly rise to the lvl of Win 10 privacy violations.