New Linux user seeks distro with as much hardware control options as possible

I know that there are older posts probably very much like this one, but I have read enough to know that Linux distributions change over time, so I feel this is valid to ask.

I’m using a 2nd gen Ryzen platform (X470, 2700X), with an AMD RX580. The MB in particular is an Asrock Taichi. From time to time I do minor work with video files, mostly remuxing, but mostly using this machine for browsing the internet and playing media of all types, codecs…

I’m new to Linux and don’t know enough about graphic control of hardware within Linux (using the GUI with some dialog box for the hardware), or if there’s much variation between distros. I know a little about the command line, as I worked with UNIX almost 30 years ago.

I installed Mint, the latest version (downloaded and installed Oct 1) and had problems finding graphical hardware control for almost anything other than settings for the monitor, and within the volume control a way to select between either the audio built into the GPU for HDMI out, or the onboard audio for the MB. I think I saw something else for the mouse, but that’s a minor point for my concerns. Considering audio can be in multiple formats, and the outputs can be speakers plugged into the back of the MB, jacks on the front of the PC case, or the HDMI out for speakers in the monitor, and can be stereo or a myriad of channel configs, is there any software drivers that let you see the details of what’s happening with sound?

On the same line, if there are Linux drivers for the MB on the site for the MB, would those be the same drivers that are added into the distros, since Ubuntu and Mint have the AMD drivers added in with the install? Or do any of the hardware vendors have drivers that add more functionality into graphical controls?