New home = new network. Need help with checking my network ideas. Thank you!

To help with reading, I created a Table of Content

Intro

Hello all!

First things first: this is my first post, I just joined the forum to post this. I’ve been watching LevelOne Tech videos for years, and the team always speaks highly of the forum community. I need a little help for networking setups and I feel I’m not proficient enough to not make mistakes. Therefore, I tought I’d ask for help here, to people who will know much more than I.

Also, I think this will be quite a long post. I feel I have to explain and describe a lot of things to be sure to be thorough enough because networking stuff needs to be. So… Sorry and thank you for reading, I guess?

Finally, since it’s my first post, a little bit about myself: I’m a 30-something french professional AV systems engineer (think meeting rooms, videoconferencing, auditoriums and such). Long time gaming and computer enthusiast, opensource advocate, privacy and online security tight-a**, I also dabble in networking (mostly surface stuff, both for personnal home networking and for professionnal use).

And please “forgive my french”. English isn’t my native language, but I tried to proofread as much as I could, sorry if some mistakes slipped through.

Now that that’s out of the way, on to the show!

What I have today:

I’m buying my first appartment and will be moving in in a few months. I’ve always wanted to create my own home network infrastructure, and I feel that this will be the perfect moment to start from scratch. To understand what I started to think about, let’s talk about what I already use.

The devices and use-cases I have:

• Main Gaming/Workstation computer
  • Home entertainment/media consumption PC that doubles as a networked storage solution
  • IoT/connected robot vacuum cleaner
  • an android tablet, used as a remote control over wifi for several different pieces of software