New home lab: moving to mini pc's to build a Proxmox cluster

Hi, I’m currently focusing on mini pc’s to build a cluster of Proxmox servers. It must be power efficient because power is expensive here in Europe. I have some experience of running Proxmox on a Minisforum UM773 lite, and Proxmox is running nicely. I’m not sure which route to go when building a cluster. I saw the video from Wendell where he is talking about connecting mini pc’s via thunderbolt, and USB 4. Can you guide me in the right direction? What is wise to do?

For high speed interconnect for a ceph ssd cluster, thunderbolt is a cheap (and very janky) solution. But for lower speeds, just get some 2.5 Gbps USB NICs and either a switch, or do a ring with 3 nodes, instead of thunderbolt. Even a single USB 3.0 5 gbps port should suffice for connecting the 2x 2.5 Gbps NICs.

It also depends on the cost, for the price of 2x USB NICs, you might be better off looking for USFFs that already have these ports built in. Wendell was using TB because the PCs already had 2 TB ports each.

Sounds like rather fragile setup in many ways and you might want to think twice about going that route. If you disregard the rather questionable hardware design and aftermarket support (BIOS updates etc) you have no redundancy at all of the storage except if you’re going to pair NVME and SATA which probably will be quite lackluster in terms of performance. No support for ECC memory which you might want to consider if availability is a thing. There isn’t necessary a huge gap in power efficiency between desktop and laptop CPUs. Depending on workload you can more or less replace two “Mini PCs” or at least 1½ with one efficient desktop CPU box (given that the Mini PCs can do full blast continously and they come with a 120W PSU) and get proper mirroring, ECC support etc and without it being much of a difference in the end.