Need help modding bios .bin file. Never done this before

Hey all, I need help modifying the HP Z420 motherboards bios file, to support Xeon E5 V2 CPU’s. There’s a bit of information on this online, but me being a complete noobie is making it hard to do.

The Bios IC is a WinBond W25q128BVFG

The HP Z420 bios file, given to me by bios_store on EBay, is labelled “HP_Z420_Workstation”, while the one from HP’s sp88961.exe is called “J61_0394”

What I need to do: “replace boot block contents (FF0000-FFFFFF) with that from newer bios revision and write that onto one of your new bios chips” (according to user MtothaJ).

I have 0 idea what programs can open this file and actually allow me to edit it, and also, what to edit. Any help with this would be great. Thank you :slight_smile:

hex editor maybe?

I guess I never thought of that, woops lol.

So I just installed wxHexEditor , and it seems to open the file mostly fine, however, the data under the “012345679ABCDEF012” column seems to be off? Not sure if it’s suppose to look the way it does. I was expecting that far right column to be in plain text, and one of them mention the “boot block”

1 Like

Also tried out HxD and wxMEdit, and they both do the same thing

sounds like thats the area in the bios bin you need to copy from the new file and write it into that space of your bios.

I read that post and you need a bios chip programmer

and he said a couple of these

@Wendell dabbed in this recently, maybe he can help without disclosing anything too secret… :wink:

So I can’t use the .bin files that I linked to create a modded bios supporting the E5 V2 CPU’s? I would have thought the .bin files would be identical and contain the exact same information as the actual bios chip (once the .bin has been flashed to the IC)?

Does that also mean I will need a motherboard supporting the E5 V2 CPU’s to do this?

All help would be greatly appreciated!

Bump?