Money researcher calls Ubiquiti Networks fraud

Andrew Left, founder of Citron Research - a research firm has called Ubiquiti Networks ‘fraud’.

http://www.citronresearch.com/citron-exposes-ubiquiti-networks/

I have been using Ubiquiti Networks access points for many years now in both a business environment as well as home. I learned about their products through word of mouth, which is one of the points that Mr. Left disputes about Ubiquiti’s business model.

I know a number of you have used Ubiquiti’s products; what are your thoughts on this? I emailed Mr. Left describing my positive experiences with Ubiquiti’s products.

1 Like

Shit, I dunno. I’m going to be watching it closely one way or another.

1 Like

I’ve been steadily building my purchase list for my network lab (and even at work for new AP’s), but watching this video makes me a tad bit concerned… I’d like to read some comments from others who use their products, and see how much of this is lining up.

While I don’t have the knowledge to critique whether these are red flags in financing and business in general. I can, however, nod to a couple of the points Ubiquiti puts forth. They do have a niche in the market - business grade at just above consumer prices (or at least the perception of it). Does Netgear have this too? Yes, definitely, but that is not all they have, they also have crappy consumer grade hardware, which is also why they do not have a “following”, like Ubiquiti has. Ubiquiti is a little like the Apple of networking equipment actually. Whether this preaching of the following (like many on this forum) translates into lower cost per sale, which translates into higher yield per employee, I don’t know, but it seems like it would point in that direction at the least. Are the numbers inflated though? i have no clue.