Low power server/nas

Hi guys,

I am looking to build a NAS/server for jellyfin, torrent automation (all the arrs) etc.

I will be serving media and transcoding for an RPI client as necessary.

I’ve never built a server before but plenty of PCs and I’m currently using my gaming PC (2700X - RTX 2070 0C) for the above mentioned tasks.

I’m trying save money on power because energy costs are rocketing, so I’m looking for as low idle power and full load as possible.

For CPU I’m currently torn between celeron N6005 and maybe a Xeon like an E3-1275L V3

On the Celeron side I’m looking at a mobo on Aliexpress but I can’t include the link here but the exact description is;

NAS Motherboard N5105/N6005 4x Intel i226-V 2.5G Nics Dual M.2 NVMe Six SATA3.0 2*DDR4 HDMI2.0 DP Mini ITX 17x17CM Soft Routing

• seems to be loads of the same mobo being sold by different sellers

Ideally though I’d like more beef than the 4c4t and max 3.3Ghz that the N6005 has to offer… as I have a nasty feeling sure it’s going to start to choke when I’m torrenting and serving media at the same time

I need 1-2 1080p simultaneous streams going, max. It’s a small household but as I say I’d love to have some extra headroom for doing some home automation or something in the future

I like the idea of the 4C-8T Xeon which is still pretty darn low power but I expect the celeron to make up some distance with hardware encode/decode… truth is I’ve been completely sold on both and now my head is exploding

Any suggestions are super welcome :pray:

Welcome to the forum!

If you were planning for just a NAS, I’d recommend the RockPro64. For Jellyfin, while it may work as both a NAS and video file streaming box, I would suggest you just get an Atom core-based Celeron, like the J3455 Bay Trail, J4125 Gemini Lake, or N5105 Jasper Lake.

Reading further, it looks like you already found a motherboard to your liking.