Linux on Dell XPS 15 2 in 1

I am creating this thread in the hopes that information can be shared about how Linux performs/runs on Dell XPS 15 2 in 1 laptops. I will share my experience and hopefully others will do the same. Just to clarify I am not a Linux expert whatsoever and I only really use it to have fun and see how far open source projects have gone and how viable they are as an option for everyday users. In short I will probably ask more questions then answer them but I hope we all can help each other out so we all can learn something new.

3 Likes

Here are the specs of the Dell XPS 15 2 in 1 laptop that I got

CPU: intel 8th gen core i7-8705G
GPU: Amd Radeon RX Vega M GL
RAM: 16Gb
Resolution: 1920X1080
Storage: 2tb intel 660p m.2 ssd

I partiined my drive to have 320GB for the windows install 500GB for the Pop!_OS and the rest as an NTFS cross operating system storage.

In order for me to dual boot windows and pop I had to change two bios settings. The first was to switch the storage from raid to achi, because pop doesn’t find the drive if it’s in raid, and second I had to turn off secure boot. Then I installed Windows 10 with all the necessary drivers and turned off fast boot. Finally I installed Pop!_Os by following the instructions on system76’s site on how to dual boot which can be found here

https://pop.system76.com/docs/dual-booting-windows/