Linux Noob Dual boot

Hey guys,
I want to make the switch to Linux. I have been using it for about a year when I can in a VM, i want to use it on hardware.
I want to duel boot, with 2 hard drives so that i can keep windows bootloader. I understand that it is still not the most stable way to run Linux I understand having 2 systems is the best idea, but I want my 4 monitors and faster compiling from my i7-4790k. I understand there is a problem with clock between linux and windows. I want to learn Linux because I really enjoy programming and i enjoy learning to fixing computer problems, i like having control over my system and i don't want Microsoft selling my data.

Is it more stable to make windows run on UTC or linux on local time? does it matter?
What distribution is good for programming, easy to get ide's lots of support kind of deal or is that even a problem? I am still learning programming, but i feel like learning Linux will give me a better understand of computer and how they work deep down.
Is there any programming languages that do not work on Linux? what IDE's are recommended for C++ and Java?
What is a good desktop for muit-moniutor setups, is will i have drives for a gtx 970?
how large of a swap do i need what does it do?

if anything i said makes no seance let me know i will explain and thanks for the help.
also any beginner guilds to Linux on YouTube that would be great.

2 Likes

Unplug the other hard drive to make sure the windows bootloader is not on it. Windows has a bad habit of installing the bootloader on the disk it is not installed on for some reason.

There is a very easy registry hack one can do.

Any one distro is not better than the other for programming. Linux distros are pure user choice with some slight difference in the install process and how you install programs. I as a fedora shill recommend fedora like no other.

as for the whole IDE thing that is something that i can not answer as i do all of my programming with nano.