Linux Gaming

Hello all,

So I have been using Linux full-time for personal computing since 2015 and happy to report it is working without any hassles with fedora.

Currently running FX 8320 / 32GB DDR3 / R9 280.

I installed steam and tried Rocket League yesterday but the game was running like crap even at 720p.

• I don’t want to install windows 10 to play games because of their shenanigans
  • I don’t want to go PCI passthrough route as I already have tried it and had it work on the current machine, but gaming wasn’t great + reading about the current issues with ryzen, etc, I don’t want to go through hoops to install windows

Anyone here gaming on Linux (Fedora) in Steam with great results? Rocket League, CSGO, etc.

If so, what’s your hardware? Any smooth linux gaming with Ryzen?

Thanks!

fedora 26 with gtx 860m.

most games work with no problem but some run like shit regardless of settings and pin the gpu at 100% load.

what driver are ypu using?

TBH I have not fiddled with drivers with my fedora installs because they worked out of the box, how can I check what I’m running, lol

My performance is pretty good, even if streaming I get at least 40FPS.

Intel Xeon 1225V3 (4c4t basically a 3XXX series i3)
RX580 8GB (gigabyte base model) overclocked +3 percent (maxe 5%) on core.
16GB 1600MHZ Hynix Ram

Your performance is determined by your kernel. If you have 4.10 you’ll be worse off compared to 4.12 or 11. AMDGPU needs to be the newest implementation possible, and even then you might be better off on AMDGPU-PRO. I’d ask @DeusQain as he had some 290’s for a while. Don’t remember if he ran linux or not, but I think he did for a little bit.

I don’t play rocket league, but I get 140FPS in that easy, but nothing above that. Getting FX at minimum would jump me to 200 easy.

Nvidia has better gaming support on the older cards at the moment. You’re either gonna have to upgrade to polaris or sidegrade to nvidia.