Linux Academy

Anyone here tried or are using Linux Academy?
Podcasts keep referring to it and thought about it signing up but wanted to get community feedback if there is any before I sign up.
https://linuxacademy.com/

1 Like

better free sources on YT

4 Likes

follow these steps to obtain free, superior documentation:

git clone https://github.com/fsufitch/git-gud.git
cd git-gud
pip install gitgud
git gud [username]
2 Likes

Not sure how to respond to that one. Seems worthless from what I saw.

I have found lots of good Info on YouTube. Is there any particular channels you might recommend for Linux Education that Linux academy offers.

What is your goal?

Truly want to learn everything sort of a jack of all trades somewhat.
I'm a diesel mechanic now and have a decent job but have always enjoyed anything to do with PC and networking.
Anything Linux Server related (containers,virtualization,systems administration,etc....)
Programming is something I have lightly dabbled in and would love to learn more also.

what worked for me is creating a home project like creating my own database at home, file share server or router and follow tutorials on youtube. 9/10 times someone has already tried to do what you want to do and documented it on youtube. Arch wiki and debian wiki is your friend.

Arch wiki:
wiki.archlinux.org

Debian wiki:
https://wiki.debian.org

If your just trying to get proficient in using linux delete all your unimportant windows installs and use your own flavor of linux. installing arch or gentoo on a virtual machine will teach you a ton. you can message me if you have any questions.

We literally just had a thread on this question. use search

Appreciate that.
I have a Fedora 25 server with zfs and KVM virtual machines.
Only time I run windows is for gaming.