Intel Core i7-9700K in 2019

Hi

I am planing to build a PC.

I am a student and I am broke most of the time, so I will be buying 2. hand parts (all testet by a local company) and I will buy the parts over the next 3 months.

I got a deal on a Intel Core i7-9700K. The processor is about 399 (retail price is 499 in my country)

Is this a good deal. I think It is not worth paying 550 $ for a i9.

Should I wait for the next gen Intel

In my price range (2k $ ) there is no competition from team red.

Thanks for reading

Janick

i can’t really help, haven’t bought anything newish in like 6 years.

that said, provide your usecase for the PC you’re building so others can help you better

added helpsesk tag for ya

1 Like

Really?

So what do you need the PC to do?

1 Like

Probably Gaming. I would still go with 8700k if it’s cheaper.

1 Like

Just curious what does a 2700x cost where u are from? And the 8700k too. Afaik the 9700k is still better than the 8700k because cores >> threads it makes up for it. But depends on what it is you want to be doing and what they cost.

2 Likes

It sounds to me like you just want the fastest single threaded speed you can get so the 9700k is a safe bet.

If you were to overclock then the 8700k might make more sense because of it being non soldered.

The 2700x costs about 350$ considering that the MBs cost more the 2700X and 9700K are more or less the same price at 400$, so I rather take the 9700K atm.

I forgot about the power of the 2700X to be honest, just compared the i7 to the Threadripper, that is priced much higher and the MB is to expensive.
I will rethink this now.
I can’t finde a 2700X PRO anywhere, so that is no option

The 8700K is the same price as the 9700K, around 400 $

If you take Benchmark its

1. 9700K
  2. 2700X
  3. 8700K

CPUBenchmark