I am new to linux.. help?

Where do i start.
UBuntu?
Redhat?
Edit: Sorry for long gap; i just want a tool box of a OS something that is different than windows. Something modular and easy to modify or at least with a nice learning curve.

What do you want to do? What are your goals?

What hardware do you currently have?

Why Linux?

also, welcome :wave:

1 Like

-Just want something different than windows. not doing mac

-r5 2600 16gb 2966 gtx 970 ssc
and thank you!

1 Like

What are your goals? Gaming, simple net browsing, development work? Some more specifics could really help in determining what might be easier for you to take a dip into the Linux world.

1 Like

Start with ubuntu. Safe starts are always best IMO. Don’t worry about code or anything, or about the linux tech stuff that we do here, at least for now. Go and geth used to the oddities linux has. The differences and nuances compared to what you’re used to. Then, start to get to the technical stuff if you want.

1 Like

Also Unity is dead!
So Ubuntu is actually usable now haha
kinda sad though how it died

Coincidentally good timing.

4 Likes

Don’t start with RedHat. It’s intended for enterprise use and assumes a knowledgeable administrator. And RedHat itself is only available with the purchase of a support subscription.

Ubuntu has a very large user base that’s accustomed to and accepting of new folks. Go to Ubuntu.com, click the “Download”, then the “Desktop” and scroll down for useful info about getting set up to install and doing an install.

You can get a developer license for free which licenses you for 1 physical machine or two vms. Just fyi.

Ubuntu 18.04

I started using Unity after they killed it and man I actually like it :frowning:
I like it more than Gnome3 actually.
at least it’s still in the repo :man_shrugging:

Mate has “Mutiny”. It’s like unity.

But true Unity will still be around I believe as a group/company hope to keep it alive