How To Resize Images Without Stretching- Inexperienced & Need Guidance!

Title states it in a nutshell- I’m totally new to photo/video editing with hardly any prior experience. My goal is to try & resize certain images I find to more suitable sizes without the stretching effect occurring! From what I’ve noticed, issues like this seem to occur when the image(s) have a narrower width than the height. But as clearly stated in the title, I don’t have ANY experience in doing so hence why I could use some guidance from experienced editors!

For me, my choice of editing tools is either gimp or any of these online website editing tools. (As long as they’re good with plenty of options.) I’m hoping someone here can give me some proper tips, pointers, advice, guidance, etc on this.

If any of you happen to have any questions for me or need further details, don’t hesitate to ask & I’ll do my best to fill you in! :slight_smile: Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

Open your image in GIMP.

Go to Image then Scale Image.

Next to width and height there is a small icon that looks like 2 or 3 links of a chain. Click on it so they come together forming a solid chain.

As you change either the width or height, you’ll see the other dimension changing at the same time. This will preserve the aspect ratio.

For maximum efficiency, stick to height and widths that are multiples of 16.

See the docs: [6.15. Scale Image]

4 Likes

When resizing images, there’s usually a little chain link symbol that forces the aspect ratio of the image dimensions to remain the same. Clicking it toggles the function.
Screenshot_20210620_005552

4 Likes