Help me build my 3 or 4 gamer / 1 CPU ultimate PC

Hi,

In the purpose of keeping this short and sweet, I’ll keep things simple:

• I won in a raffle at work the Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX (32 cores / 64 threads) CPU.

Based on this CPU, I would like to build a good 3/4 gamer / 1 CPU machine, kinda like LinusTechtips.
I have no other use of this CPU and it’s huge core count then to run multiple VMs in parallel.

I work as an IT manager and have a Software Engineering background, however I have not dabbled with
Linux for the past 15+ years. I’m been mainly on Windows machines for work / gaming and Mac for daily stuff: internet / email / etc.

What I would like is that the community help me select the best components for my build and installation to make this project possible.
I have not purchased any other components yet, in fact the only thing I have right now is the CPU. Money is not an issue and I’d rather go
with quality components if possible.

I have however set a few personal objectives if possible:

1. I don’t want to liquid cool my system (needs to be air cooled i.e Noctua fans, etc.). I live in a fairly cold region, so heat is not much of an issue.

2. Needs to be a stable system i.e. runs 24/7 with minimal downtime. Both hosts and VMs would be running with minimal downtime.

3. Main host needs to be Linux. I would like to use Arch (however I have never installed before) or possibly Ubuntu if Arch is too complicated. At this point I would consider myself noob or intermediate tier Linux user (due to past experience on Linux).

4. I would like to go with Team Red if possible for GPUs as I would like to support Open Source i.e use Mesa ?

5. I would like to avoid installing Windows 10 if possible as a VM.

6. I would like to run 3 or 4 VMs in parallel (see objective 2).

All my games are on Steam and I run them in 1920 x 1080 resolution.

Please help me with any suggestions you might have for this build.