[Guide] OpenVPN for Security, Privacy and Gaming. How to setup a private VPN and a VLAN on a single machine

Opening Personal Notes:

Hello everyone, I want to start off by saying that I am by no means an expert on this and I might have made some errors, I’d be more than happy to receive constructive criticism and improve this guide with your feedback. I spent quite a lot of time figuring this stuff out and recently had to re-do it and I recorded my steps.

I originally set it up on my home server so that when I traveled to Turkey, I could use my VPN and access various, forbidden (in Turkey) websites, such as Wikipedia, GitHub and others.

After some time however I realized I could also use it for gaming, especially with old PC games that don’t always work with Direct IP connections or have live online matchmaking services, even some modern games (such as Dying Light) only support LAN (in the case of Dying Light, the online portion is not cross-platform compatible with Steam and GoG, hence why that was the tipping point).

Introduction:

OpenVPN is a VPN (Virtual Private Netwroking) software that is used for various reasons, for security, gaming and privacy are the main ones I know of.

In this guide I will try to explain and show the steps I took to install OpenVPN and configure it on my (X)Ubuntu 18.04 home server.

So, here is what you’ll need:

• OpenVPN-Install Script by Nyr is the one I used for my setup:
  • However someone forked and created a enhanced version of the script, which you can also try out if you want to:
    https://github.com/angristan/openvpn-install

• This part is important, you need your local network IP range to be a non-common one.