Electric Mini Bike Build (In Progress)

Hello everyone! :smiley:

This is my first post here on the Level 1 forums, so I hope you all enjoy it!

I’m currently a student in my third year of Electronics Engineering Technology. As such, I have to design and build some sort of project which will count as one of my class credits. Since I bought an old used Baja Bike during the summer, I thought I would do something fun and change it to a fully electric drive-train. I’ve been working on it since mid-September. Here’s my progress thus far.

Removing the engine

Here we have what I started with. It’s a 4-stroke 97cc Baja Bike, making roughly 2.8HP. It’s got a centrifugal clutch, and has a top speed of about 49kph (30mph). It’s a pretty fun little bike. Here I’ll be removing the engine and all the other components.

There’s the old throttle (just a cable to the carburator) as well as the engine kill switch.

Now that that’s gone, to the engine!

All the fluids and such were drained before I brought it out to school with me.

There’s the centrifugal clutch, with the exhaust sitting just above it. Removing this was surprisingly simple, just 2 bolts were holding it in place on the bottom!

Taadaa! She’s out! And incredibly filthy. Afterwards I had to scrape off all the crap from the frame, and my kitchen floor lol, but eventually I got it relatively clean.

Battery Modifications

So my lithium-ion battery came in finally! It’s a 48V/20Amp-hour battery. Unfortunately, the battery cables are too small to handle the current I’ll need (10AWG, which can only handle 30A, and I need ~50A), so I’ll need to swap them out. I already ordered some 6AWG for the rest of the bike’s wiring, so I can just use that.

On top we have the battery management system, sitting on top of all the battery cells.