Dual KVM HID and Display Issues

Hello!

Recently purchased the Dual Monitor Dual PC KVM. When switching between my work laptop and PC, my displays work with the PC but only the 1440p display works with the laptop. Conversely, my HID devices work with my laptop but not my PC. Below are pictures of my cable setup.

I tried unplugging everything, powercycling the KVM, and then plugging everything back in to no avail. I’m pretty new to tech so any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

the usbc cable on the dp 1.4 dual monitor kvm cannot do both usbc and displayport. you need a usbc to displayport cble going into the empty pc2 port for displayport.

similiarly pc1 doesn’t seem to have a usb port

this kind of kvm each pc needs:

usb
display 1
display 2

discreet connections from each device. If you have a usbc pass-through hub that does ub and display, that’d probably work with your laptop if it only has one usbc port. otherwise a moshi brand usbc to dp cable from the laptop should fix it up.

the hid devices will work with the desktop when you use a C to C or C to A usb cable to connect the usb port on the kvm to your desktop pc.

Hi wendell, thanks for responding! does the cable need to be moshi brand? would another bidirectional USB-C to DP cable work? $60 seems very steep.

Usually yes but occasionally some people complain that certain USBc to dp cables mishandle sleep or other modes. Try a cheaper cable and let us know it works, and wake from sleep works?

I’d just go with the dock option. Bonus of less plugs to mess with, assuming the laptop gets moved around.
Charger, dock, done.
Plenty of those exist for way less than $60.
If I’m understanding right (pretty sure I am) KVM won’t do the appropriate signal muxing, but a simple type C dock will, with zero disadvantages vs a C to DP cable.