Do I need to consider G Sync when buying a new Monitor?

Okay, so I’ve been planning on getting a new monitor for some time now and I more or less know what I want.

27 inch
IPS Panel
4K UHD (3840x2160)

But it has been a while since I bought a monitor and I don’t know If I should or shouldn’t get one with G Sync.

Acer S276HLTMJJ

This is the monitor I’ve been using for the past 3-4 years and I never experienced any screen tearing of any sorts. (At least none that I could remember) I play almost every game genre except for First-person shooters.

Should I or shouldn’t I get a G-Sync monitor and why?

Quickie question. Whats better 2 2K monitors or 1 4K Monitor?

No, get a “gsync compatible” display to save $200. Number of monitors versus resolution comes down to personal preference. But remember if you plan to game at 4k, you will need a pretty high-end GPU.

4 Likes

I have one, and I have been in love with it ever sense. I don’t get the hate.

Mine runs most games at 165hz. Stock is 144hz but it’s easily over clocked. You will see a huge difference in your games. 970 was great and 1080 was even better. I’m at 1440p, 4k wasn’t that great. Felt like that spark was missing, so I went back to 1440p.

A lot of games are optimized for it, but you’ll have to turn off v-sync. When I play on another monitor it doesn’t drive me crazy, but I definitely miss mine. Makes applications and windows move all glossy/glassy too. Really slick man.

@AnotherDev I actually want a 4K monitor for work stuff but I was planning on using it to play on 1440p. That should be fine right?

Also, the refresh rate. I haven’t tried anything above 60hz. So I wasn’t planning on getting a high refresh rate monitor but does having a high refresh rate make a big difference?

@Ruffalo Thanks I didn’t know there is such thing as gsync compatible. I have a 1080 atm. I think I should be able to run most game with it.

Yes, Nvidia basically supports freesync now. No reason to pay out the $200 Nvidia tax.