DIY NAS / Server

Hi all,
Just joined this forum. First post here. I need your suggestions and recommendations to build a machine to rip and store my BD’s, DVD’s and audio CD’s. The second purchase for this machine is to store photo’s from 2 iphones and back up laptop PC’s. We have a Dell XPS13 and 2 very old MacBook Core 2 Duo. Currently, I am using separate external HDD for backing up the laptops.

First off, a bit of background. This will be my 3rd build. So I am a real novice. The first one was an AMD Opteron 170 / DFI Landparty Expert / 2 GB DDR1. This one lasted 9 years. Second and current PC is an Intel i5-3570K / Asus P8Z77V-Deluxe / 16 GB DDR3. I triple boot MX-19, Archlabs and Windows 10 on separate SSD’s. There is also a 3TB Western Digital Red for storage. This one is going on 7 years strong and counting.

To date, I purchased 2-8TB Western Digital Element external HDD. I plan to schuck them for the new PC. I also have 2 power supplies in my possession. A Seasonic X Series 460 fanless and an Antec Neo HE430 which I pulled from my first build.

What do I do for the CPU / motherboard? Seems like AMD Ryzen is the better bang for the buck currently. Is it very time consuming to rip the BD’s and DVD’s? Should I built 2 boxes? One to house the stored data and one to do general computer stuff. I do not game if that matters with your suggestions. I do not mind spending around $1500 for this build.

Thanks and I look forward to yours recommendations.

1 Like

Riping Media in the us is illegall (bypassing drm is the issue)

Ryzen is much better suited for your task than Intel, especially if you don’t do gaming (specifically high framerate gaming), which you said was a non issue. More cores generally is better. There’s no real harm in doing “general computer stuff” on the box that’s doing the ripping assuming you have the space ram for that (web browsers eat ram)

On the note about legality,