Design a custom super small ATX computer case? Help

Hello,

I have some light experience with semens IDEAS and Autodesk from highschool, and have been wanting to build my own computer case.
Now I know this sounds crazy, but the school I currently go to gives us free access to 3D printers, welders, a waterjet, cnc machines, planers, and other metal and woodworking equipment. I currently have a Thermaltake G3 which I love but want to build the absolutely smallest ATX compatible case possible. The reason is that atx allows a ton of ram, and often has the best features on the market compared to matx or ITX. ITX is kinda a joke to be honest, and unfortunately, there aren’t many options out there with 10gbe and thunderbolt 4, and an optical audio jack. I’m not opposed to making an mATX case but figure why not try the big boy first to see if that works.

SO TL;DR, what is the best program to design layouts, and case schematics in? Autodesk has wayyy too many options to choose from, and all are free for university students. ATX has a very particular layout for mobo standoffs and after factoring in power supply space and optimizing the space for the GPU, it’s going to need to be something that’s easy to rapid prototype in.

Any ideas/ thoughts.
I know there are plenty of ITX options and even some MATX options out there, but I just want to see what I can accomplish. A

Also, on a side note, does anyone know the maximum height needed for mobo components over the PCI slots? Like can I put a GPU mounted parallel flipped on it’s back 1.5 inches above the PCB?

1 Like

Theres nothing crazy about what you’ve described. You can find ITX cases on Thingiverse, go have a look for them and see if it gives you any ideas. Then remix them and share your remix. I just wouldn’t make it out of PLA if you can avoid it, I’ve seen enough large PLA prints warping and twisting just because Cura and or my filament wasn’t dialled in perfectly.