Crypto as auxiliary winter bedroom heat source

First, I know nothing about crypto…except I heard they can throw off a lot of waste heat. I was wondering if I can utilize that waste to heat my bedroom in wintertime. Perhaps the currency I collect can pay the heating bill? I’m looking for help in finding acceptable used equipment; what do I need and how to set it up. Currently I have a budget of $0.0 in Canadian dollars. I’m posting now in the hope I will run across some kickass deals thru the spring, summer, and fall. If I know what to look for then maybe I will fin what I need at a cost I can accept. I’m currently just started fixing an old mobile home that was gifted to me. I have 35 years of experience in renovations so the fixing won’t be a problem. The mobile home is near Red Deer, Alberta, Canada. It has 2 bedrooms on either end. The south bedroom has lots of windows and will be used as an office. The north bedroom is where I will sleep. There is wood heat in the main living room/ kitchen area. I will have a fan to push heat down the hall to my bedroom but I feel that won’t be enough in mid-winter when temps can drop to -40C.

Is this a viable plan?
Any suggestions on hardware?
Good simple site/s to learn how to set up system and how to collect coin?
TIA
Richard

The kind of coins that are worth something, arent worth mining with GPUs AFAIK. You could donate your clock cycles to folding at home. A kind of a crowdsourced research project. Level1 has a folding team.

If you wanted to mine a coin with your machine theres a ton of options out there. Find a coin you think is interesting first, then look into how to set that up, be it solo, or in a pool.

2 Likes

your better off with a space heater as you would need tons of gpus to keep a room warm if temps fall low and you have poor insulation. and the power bill would not be offset in the slightest.

1 Like