CPU peripherals communications

I want to know how CPU is connected to peripherals in a system, and how does a system knows what peripheral is occupying a certain slot, on hardware level

Meaning, suppose I’m designing a computing unit, how would I connect CPU to ethernet controller, drive controllers, etc… is it I2C , SPI , etc… ?

And after the system gets power and make the POST how does it know that this device on PCIe slot is a graphics card and the other one is a USB controller and the third is a 10 Gbps ethernet etc… ?

Is there some special “code” on each peripheral that the CPU/system read in order to know what it is?

it’d be nice if you mention x86 CPUs as well as ARM CPUs, and where exactly can I find detailed information about this topic and how to connect a CPU (articles, Documentation or books)

I’m a hardware design engineer, and I’m thinking of designing a computing unit
based on an ARM CPU,but I never made any computing hardware before.

Thanks a lot

1 Like

Is IOMMU the thing you are looking for?

One of the expansion buses connected to your CPU’s memory controller. Mostly PCIe, PCI/PCI-X, ISA, etc.

You can connect a peripheral over other interfaces, but it will be on a bridge or controller that is running on one of those expansion buses. Like USB.

There is -

For PCI and PCIe, each device has a chunk of memory called the Configuration Space that is accessed differently than the actual memory space. When a system boots, it queries the configuration space for device type/etc from each device connected to the bus.

USB has a similar structure that contains the DEVICE_ID and VENDOR_ID of the device.

6 Likes

This should be a good starting point for you.

Logically speaking, a lot of the low level stuff (practically hardware level) is based on old PCI (not PCIe) standards, whether it’s physically USB, PCI, PCIe, etc.
Take note of the “plug and play BIOS” link too. Also, UEFI is essentially just an opperating system.

2 Likes