Considering moving to Solus from Ubuntu Any Thoughts?

Hi, I have been using linux on and off for about 10 years, and for the last 8 months I have been running it as my main OS. I have been running Ubuntu as it is normally a stable distro with good support. Lately because of steam proton I have been living on the most recent versions of mesa and kernels for the newest GPU and graphics improvements and I am slowly realizing that I might as well move to a rollin release if I am gonna update a lot of the core system separately anyways.

I have been looking at Solus for a while, since what I have heard of it is that it is a “stable” rolling release with focus on not breaking the system from updating to quickly but still being a rolling release.

My question is if anyone here has any experience with Solus, and if you would recomend it. I am aware the repositories are not as complete as ubuntu or debian, but I think it probably covers my needs.

Anyways, I would apreaciate your thoughts and thanks in advance.

1 Like

It’s a decent distro. If package availability isn’t a concern for you, and you don’t mind the support of a smaller (but very passionate) community, go for it.

Solus is cool, they have had a bit of a rough time of late when their lead dev stopped working on the project. The community had to rally round to take up the slack.

I have seen this a number of times where a distro is the vision of a single person. It becomes their passion project. Loads of user jump on board, then something happens to the project leader and things can become a bit tricky for a while. (PCLinuxOS, SolydXK, CloudOS).

You have to decide if Solus new dev team is up to the task or just treading water.

I tend to stick to distros with larger, more stable dev teams. At the very least not the single vision of one person.