Comparing gamepads for Windows - Microsoft Xbox Series vs. Sony Dualsense vs. 8BitDo Pro 2

I started playing games on consoles, so its natural that i still consider a gamepad the way to go for certain genres of games.

I’m always curious to see what’s out there and constantly like to try new models, this time around i had the opportunity to try these 3 controllers at the same time.

The experience will be focused on Windows 11, since its my current OS of choice for games, i also often play games sitting on my couch from some 3 meters away from the computer, therefore i’ll also be focusing on how these controllers work via bluetooth, connected to my Intel AX200 network card.

The goal here is not to say which one of these is the definitive answer for everyone, but rather to showcase in which departments each excels, to perhaps help you find which one is the best option for you.

Gamepads and comparison with older siblings:

Microsoft Xbox Series X/S Controller:

What is considered the de facto standard controller for Windows, the Xbox Controller, this time around in the Series X/S trim.

Comparing this to my friend’s old Xbox One controller, its noticeable Microsoft decided to play safe, stick to their already solid design and only tweak a few areas, such as the dpad and the textures of the controller itself.

On the hand it feels almost the same as the old Xbox One controller, albeit slightly smaller.

Once again Microsoft decided to design the controller to be powered mainly by AA batteries, selling an optional rechargeable battery pack for those who want it, which I’m not particularly against.

Sony Dualsense:

This controller, on the other hand, is not meant to work with Windows, but with minor tinkering, it works almost flawlessly.