Building a pseudo HEDT system -which case with 6+ 3.5" bays?

Hii all,

Im going for a new virtualization rig - maybe KVM or maybe just Windows with VMware Workstation. Unfortunately the money doesnt grow on trees so i made the great, but less than i wanted, choice of am4 and a 3950x with 128gb ram. This PC is going to run a lot of throwaway VMs as I work as a technical project lead in the Windows world.

Its also going to be used for moderate gaming when time allows, but the main usage is storing all my stuff safely, providing plex to the family and building out test systems for fun and profit.

Eggs, Baskets - dont bother, this is what i can do right now

Im not interested in RGB or water cooling, in case that changes anything.

What do you guys recommend case wise, Im leaning towards the venerable 750D Airflow from Corsair, what would be a better choice?

Silverstone CS380 supports 8 drives. It ss somewhat limited in GPU length (240mm/9.5")

Phanteks Enthoo Pro M supports up to 8 drives, you will have to buy their HDD cages though.

Phanteks Enthoo Pro is another option if you want to go big.

Keep in mind the Silverstone also limits the CPU cooler selection.

Would Fractal Design Define XL R2 work for you? 8 3.5" bays and should have plenty of space for, well everything.

https://www.fractal-design.com/products/cases/define/define-xl-r2/black-pearl/

FTFY… Way better airflow… Although the requirements can also fit into Arc Mini R3, but then we move into mATX and that’s a dead zone overal…

But ARC models are already discontinued? Or are they? :thinking:

1 Like

I was able to physically fit 10 3.5" drives in the Fractal R6, though need to buy all the drive trays (also takes up a slot section where the 5.25" drive bay could go). Will need to buy extra drive trays though if you go that route and they are hit and miss for availability

It really comes down to styling choice as well. The larger Corsair cases (750d) would suit but are pricey for the feature set.