Budget home office build

Buddy asked me to help him build a home office pc… budget is ~600$

What he’s looking for is a pc that deliveries a snappy experience. He just uses a dual monitor setup with some ms office app, etc

I’m a software dev, not a pc builder… so wasn’t really sure where to get started.

Was thinking of just suggesting pc master race basic build and call it a day. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/jjfgsk

Another starting point I came across on pc part picker was: https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/t2wrxr/modest-intel-gaming-build

If any one has any constructive criticism I’d appreciate it.

Resurrecting for closure:
Quote: $642.48
Actual after taxes, shipping, ect.: $832.14

Performance/Stability tests: passmark, cinebench r20

Lessons learned:

• Never offer to build a pc for anyone who has a taco bell budget and lambo dreams
  • Big gap from quote to actual final cost
  • Cable management is easier on tv
  • At the end of the day, if you do build a pc for someone… you’re not going to make any money… do it to give back

Have a good one!

Parts List

How much storage does he have now?

Also what are his current parts? Maybe those parts can be taken from the old rig and put into the new one, to save some money.

I’m not sure… I’m thinking 500gb should prob be more than enough. I don’t think he’s using anything fancy. I was trying to come up with something that he could upgrade down the line… cpu wise, etc and still be around his budget.

The thing is… there are so many builds out there and I’m a bit lost on what to suggest.

AMD APU build with a good chunk of fast RAM and NVME storage comes to mind.

Do you think 16gb of ddr4 @3000 is enough?
I’ve been looking at the Ryzen 5 2600

Bingo

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/LndBPn

Swap to the CPU to a 3400G if desired.

1 Like