ASUS X570 WS ACE with Intel Microchip PCIE Switch/Hub no BAR space, HELP pls

So I’m pretty sure I know the anwser, ask asus for a special Bios or it won’t work…
But maybe there is another option.

Long story short I got two

And I’d like to use them in my x570 ws ace server. However dmesg shows:

What I already tried:
a bunsh of livecd some arch some debian same issue
CPU: r5 5500 and r9 5950x same issue

Above 4G decoding is enabled

pci=realloc
MMIO no space - shows quickly
this just craches the during boot. I just get the busybox but since the doesnt seem to be neither more or less included I cant scroll through the dmesg…

chipset lanes and cpu it makes no difference

a couple is the recent bios’s no difference

In freebsd they maybe working nothing seems to stand out in the dmesg however I’m not a bsd pro

I ordered the oculink to sff-8639 cables just today so I cant test with ssds

If someone has any insides :slight_smile:

Unfortunately I don’t have any experience with Intel PCIe Switch AICs for NVMe SSDs but I’ve tested Broadcom x16-to-x32 PCIe Gen3 and Gen4 switches on the very same ASUS Pro WS X570-Ace without such issues.

When looking at your photos my DANGER sense is tingling: Did the cards actually come without any heatsink?! You see the intended mounting holes in the PCB.

ANY active PCIe switch I encountered so far required a heatsink and additionally active cooling - don’t know about the Intel one specifically, couldn’t see a TDP or typical power draw value on their website.

I hope the silicon didn’t fry itself overheating.

Relax they have heatsinks, I just wanted to know the switchchip model. Also in the 2nd pic the card is in the top slot with the heatsink

Another gut rumbling I got is from Intel’s website mentioning the AICs needing to be connected with a special cable to their server motherboards to function.

Proprietary DRM stuff going on?

1 Like

Maybe they dont have a public datasheet they have some headers for bmc