Apple Vs. Windows

After dealing with the last couple of issues with Windows 10, I have thought about dumping windows completely and moving over to Apple. Keep in mind that my main OS is Linux Mint and I have used it for about 3 years now and I could not be happier with it. However, I have to have a operating system that is compatible with everything at school / work. Both use windows and Apple so making the switch to Apple would be ok. Also, I have a lot of experience with apple and it has programs that I need, mainly a good video / photo / audio editor.

So my question to everyone is, considering that I use Linux as my main operating system what are the pros and cons to switching from windows 10 to Apple's OSx for work / school. I am not a heavy gamer and what games I do play are played on HTPC and the big screen so thats no a consideration. Any help is appreciated.

1 Like

Pro's: OS happiness
Con's: Same as admitting you like console gaming better

3 Likes

LOL:laughing:

1 Like

Apple is a "walled garden".

Windows is just walled with a very badly maintained garden and very strange choices for flowers sometimes. If you do not care about games that much i think the transition would be an easy one. The only other awful issue is that the MS office port for MACos is crap. But you can solve this by using a simple VBox VM for office.

Since you know your way around Linux you can find a pretty decent CLI experience on MACOS as well.

3 Likes

Well, both have Bash now.

They both have privacy issues.

Games and MS Office are better on Windows.

Adobe and Sony suites have a nice workflow on Apple. Mac OSX does have Final Cut.

MacBooks are pretty but not functional. Surfaces are nice but limited.